The Allegory of Ifonlyayed

The roads of the land of Ifonlyayed lead everywhere within, but nowhere outside its domain.  Many of  its roads are well travelled, having deep ruts where its citizens have been over and again.   All of its travel locations are very popular seeing return guests.

The citizens of Ifonlyayed govern its realm, each one having the authority of a god over the nation.  Ifonlyayed’s citizens do great deeds, mighty works, and awesome feats; yet, such amazing things count for nothing beyond their borders.  The people of Ifonlyayed are more loving, more  courageous, and more active than the inhabitants of the land of Now.

Though Ifonlyayed has no military power, it wages a constant propaganda war with the land of Now.  Now is under a constant barrage from missiles of misery and rockets of despair launched from Ifonlyayed.  It raises flags of doubt and fortresses of depression in the territory it  conquers.  The only effective weapons that Now has against Ifonlyayed are belief in Truth,  trust in Truth’s promises, and hope that Truth will bring His promises to fruition.   Ifonlyayed fears the Truth, and hates the future He promises.  Truth renders Ifonlyayed’s  weapons useless, devastates its strongholds, and reduces all of the land of Ifonlyayed to cinders in  the atomic blast of reality.

Edit: If Only I Had Put On a Disclaimer

I agree with many of you that the above allegory is little better than the typical “pseudo-Christian power of positive crud” that one finds in ones’ e-mail at least thrice on a daily basis.  The only thing it needs for e-mail distribution is the disclaimer…

FORWARD THIS TO TEN DIFFERENT PEOPLE AND GOD WILL GIVE YOU $5000 IN A CAYMAN ISLANDS BANK ACCOUNT UNDER THE NAME ‘ANONYMOUS.’  IF YOU DON’T FORWARD THIS MESSAGE, YOU WILL BE THRUST INTO THE DEEPEST PIT OF HELL WHERE TEETH ARE GNASHED DOWN TO THE JAWBONE!

I had been thinking about various past personal decisions, which led to my current state of affairs.  I thought, “What if I had done ‘B’ instead of ‘A’?  Wouldn’t things be better now?”

After thinking of various scenarios, I corrected myself.  In thinking “what if I had,” I was casting judgment not only on my past decisions, but also on my current state of affairs, and (worst of all) on God’s sovereign reign over both my past and my present.  I was neither trusting God with my current state of affairs, nor hoping in His promise of a much better state of affairs to be obtained.  In other words, I should leave the realm of past possibility to God, who alone has middle knowledge.  In addition, I should trust Him with my present, hoping in the resurrection to come.

About haroyce

Royce is an aspiring writer of fantasy, history, philosophy, and theology. He earned his BS in History from Cedarville College, and his MDiv from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Fiction, Philosophy, Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

