Honoring Thy Father

In last weeks installment of ROAR, I painted a very small portion of the canvas that is my dad. I did so in order to show how God provided another man to fill the void of kindness and fun in a little boy’s life. Yes, in respect to play and kindness, my dad was lacking; however, my dad has many admirable qualities.

A Man of Many Talents

Frank Hunt, Jr. was the son of a carpenter, Frank Hunt Sr., and a successful antique store tycoon, Flora (Smith) Hunt. Frank Sr., passed down his knowledge of carpentry, cabinet making, furniture making, and general woodworking to my dad. Like his father, and his grandfather, my dad could make anything of which you could ever conceive out of wood. Woodcraft was not to be my father’s chosen trade. He admitted, “It’s easier to carry jewelry in your hands, than to carry several hundred pounds of furniture on your back.”

Dad went to London High School at a time when they still taught Latin, the Bible, arithmetic in your head (not on paper), and various other things that professional educators say we no longer need. My dad could do long division and multiplication in his head. It was very impressive to watch him do great feats of mathematics in front of a customer to figure sales tax or the price of gold items (he based the price of items in his store on the daily price of gold). It was also impressive to hear him quote passages of Scripture (even though they were often picked for the purpose of condemning someone for some sin that he personally did not favor). My dad had even been the Sunday School Director at London First United Methodist Church. He stopped attending said church because of the hypocrisy he saw within it, and because of the ever increasing liberalism and antinomianism within it. Dad loved the Mosaic Law, often saying that one had to follow all of it to be saved. Although dad did not understand the grace of God in Jesus Christ, my dad’s love of the Law put the fear of God and his judgment into me. When I did eventually learn of grace, I knew just how great a salvation God had given through Christ, who took those judgments in my place for the laws, which I had broken. Apart from grace, my dad learned many skills from both his father and from his public education; however, it was not enough to do what he wanted to do.

In order to go into the jewelry trade, dad needed a college education. To help pay for his education dad joined the newly formed Air Force. He had joined the USAF to fly, but he was under the height requirement for pilots. He received flight training, and was better than his fellow pilots, but was assigned a desk instead of a cockpit. Despite his disappointment, dad received enough from the USAF and from parking cars at a hotel to go to Bradley University.

At Bradley University, dad learned the base sciences of the jewelry trade, goldsmithing and horology. He could make custom jewelry,watches, clocks, or even eyeglasses (yes, in the old days you used to go a jeweler to get your glasses, not Dr. Bizer). He could fix jewelry, watches, clocks, and eyeglasses. When he started Hunt’s Jewelry, he was a “full service” jeweler.

My dad could do many other wonderful things, such as auto repair, electrical wiring, and masonry. Not many people today could boast of being a “master of all trades.” I wish I knew half of what he has in skills. He has passed some of his skills and knowledge on to me. Included in that skill set is my impish sense of humor. I sometimes even see my dad’s impish grin in my daughter Millie.

Grand Marshals

Prayer for the Talented Man

As many of you know, my dad has a tumor on his bladder. His doctors have told him to stop taking his cancer medication, because it has no affect. As I wrote above, my dad does not know the grace of God through Christ. Dad believes in the Mosaic Law and Revelation (you could call him an “unsaved Dispensationist”). He is a proud man who believes that one must earn his own salvation. He has always had a strong work ethic, trusting in his own strength to do everything, including salvation. Now, my dad’s Parkinsons has taken his physical strength. It is starting to have an effect on his mental faculties as well. The strength in which he had been trusting all his life is vanishing. I ask for your prayers that the barrier of “religious” strength will fall, by the power of the Spirit and the Word. Although I desire that my dad’s cancer will go away, I desire his salvation all the more.

Originally published on August 7, 2010

About haroyce

Royce is an aspiring writer of fantasy, history, philosophy, and theology. He earned his BS in History from Cedarville College, and his MDiv from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

